Annual Meeting: Sunday, June 3

May 1, 2018 | News

OFFICIAL NOTIFICATION: East Shore Congregational Meeting, Sunday, June 3, at 11:15 a.m.

Dear East Shore Member,

I’d like to invite you to East Shore’s Annual Meeting on Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 11:15 a.m. in the Sanctuary. A worship service at 10:00 a.m. precedes the Annual Meeting. Childcare for children ten and younger will be available during the Annual Meeting.

Your participation is important. The Congregational Meeting is the ultimate authority within the church. As a free, liberal, religious community, we, the members, own the church. We have the responsibility and privilege of living our values. We elect our leaders and adopt our budget. We discuss and influence our policies and the direction of East Shore. The Annual Meeting gives shape and power to the fifth principle in Unitarian Universalism: the right of conscience and the use of democratic process. Our Bylaws mandate a quorum of 10% of the membership in order to conduct business.

In this packet you will find:

A copy of our detailed proposed budget will also be available for review in the church office starting Monday, May 21, 2018. In addition, the 2017 Annual Meeting minutes are available in the office and on the website, Individual hardcopies are available on request. Biographies of the nominees for the Board and Nominating Committee are also available in the office or at

I have been awed by the engagement of the congregation over the past year and look forward to this annual representation of our democratic community at work. I hope to see you on the 3rd!
Jack Slowriver
President, Board of Trustees

East Shore Unitarian Church
2018 Annual Congregational Meeting Agenda
11:15 a.m., June 3, 2018

  • Call to Order
  • Establishment of a Quorum
  • Adoption of Robert’s Rules of Order (and appoint a Parliamentarian)
  • President’s Report
  • Acceptance of 2017 Annual Meeting Minutes
  • Approval of Right Relations Covenant
  • Approval of 2018-2019 Operating Budget
  • Election of 2018–2019 Officers and Board of Trustees
  • Election of 2018-2019 Nominating Committee Members
  • Recognition of Lay Leadership
  • Installation of new and continuing officers and Board
  • Closing Words, Adjourn

Important Note Regarding a Recent Board Decision: Out of respect for the Holly House Development Task Force request to delay a vote in order to gather answers to some remaining questions, and out of respect for the clear need to further educate our congregation, the Board of Trustees has voted to delay the vote on the Holly House property for up to 6 months. Sunday, after church, this will be discussed in detail at the next Holly House Development Town Hall. – Joint statement submitted by David Baumgart, secretary, East Shore Board


2018-19 Slate of Candidates

The East Shore Nominating Committee has completed the slate of candidates for next year’s Board of Trustees and Nominating Committee positions.  This slate will be voted on at the June 3rd Congregational Meeting.

The positions in bold print are up for election.  The others are informational, to provide a complete list of members who will serve during the next church year.

Board of Trustees

President    Tom Doe    1st year of 2-year term
Vice-President    Dennis Fleck    1-year term
Treasurer    Marcy Langrock   1st yearly term of four max
Secretary    Dave Baumgart    4th yearly term of four max
Trustee-at-Large    Lee Dorigan    3rd year of 3-year term
Trustee-at-Large    Jerry Bushnell    2nd year of 3-year term
Trustee-at-Large    Paul Buehrens    2nd year of 3-year term
Trustee-at-Large   Sara Brannman   Completing 3rd year of 3-year term for Marcy
Trustee-at-Large   Uzma Butte    1st year of 3-year term
Trustee-at-Large   Mark Norelius    1st year of 3-year term


Nominating Committee

Chair (Board-Appointed)   Connie Hirnle    2nd yearly term of 2 max
Member    Kirstie Lewis    2nd year of 2-year term
Member    Manny Brown    2nd year of 2-year term
Member    Katie Edwards   1st full year of 2-year term
Member    Martin Cox    1st year of 2-year term

In addition to the slate of candidates from the Nominating Committee, our church bylaws allow Nominations by Petition.  Members in good standing may nominate themselves or others for any position up for election. To do so, signatures of at least fifteen members of the congregation must be presented to the church office at least 21 days in advance of the Annual Congregational Business Meeting, along with a signed statement from each prospective nominee of willingness to serve if elected.  The deadline this year is May 13, 2018.  No additional nominations will be received after the stated period.

Biographies about the new nominees can be found here.

Questions about the election process may be directed to the current members of the Nominating Committee: Connie Hirnle, Manny Brown, Kirstie Lewis, Katie Edwards, and Bill Austin.